My Workspace

KSNP3 WORKSHOP1No, my workspace isn’t Pinterest perfect nor is it always clean. I sometimes wonder where the millions of little threads come from and how it can possibly be so incredibly cold in there but it’s my workspace and I know I am lucky to have it! I thought today I would talk about where I work.

Over the years that I’ve been growing the business, the SHOP (as well all call it) has also grown. It is attached to our cozy home and only now finally has a proper ceiling! The rafters were bare before my dad Workshop Linen 3and I put up a ceiling. We had a tornado rip the roof in places so once that was fixed, (and WAY better than it was!) we put in simple boards for my ceiling. The garage doors are drafty so I plastic them in the winter. Still need a better floor (just concrete and part of the driveway really) for many reasons but it is a work in progress just like everything I do.

I LOVE and I MEAN LOVE creating with what I have, building with what I have, and homesteading. I especially love that I built this business with a sewing machine that was given to me, 1/2 yard of fabric, organic lavender from my garden, and balsam that I wild harvested myself. That was the start. It has grown beyond my Etsy shop where I now have wholesale customers around the country and retail customers from all over the world. KSNP 2

I did NOT think for a moment that my Etsy shop that started with one tiny sachet would grow, morph, and becDSCN2723ome so much fun. The journey (while YES there have been tears shed my friends, many tears!) has been a greDSCN2722at one and I am excited for what 2015 will bring. Business is difficult that is for sure especially when you have to make each little decision yourself (not to mention make the products too!) and be self-motivated but I have been so fortunate to have such an amazing “village” to help out.KSNP4 February will be 5 years and cheers to all who are embarking on this same journey for the first time! It’s one heck of a ride!

My plans for this spring/summer include: painting the shop (!!!! Bout time!), putting in a simple floor (save my back a bit and serve as a cold barrier), and putting a few more shelves in here and there. Work in progress and all about enjoying the journey.

Until next time….keep creating! I myself am off to tend to my chickens, make new designs, and bake some bread. Not necessarily in that order either! 😉

xoxo

About Perry Home Naturals

I live in Western Maine, on four acres, with my hilarious husband, entertaining daughter, a flock of chickens & three rambunctious kitties. I am owner artisan of Perry Home Naturals that I started (as Winter Solstice Dreams) in 2010. Striving to leave things better than I found them which includes teaching my daughter to follow my husband & I as we lovingly try to make this world better in our own "backyard".
This entry was posted in diy, Etsy, Handmade, work space, workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

