DIY Dish Soap SUCCESS!

FullSizeRender_1IMG_0596SO….This past weekend I had an epic DIY dish soap FAIL.

I followed a recipe (sort of).

I added my own stuff (without measuring).

It kinda worked (no, not at all…Not even a little). FullSizeRender_2

My 5yo daughter commented on my “failed” recipe and said, “mumma, it looks like goblin’s breath”. (HONESTLY, I have no idea where she got that idea but ya know, she’s kinda right. Having never MET a goblin though, I don’t know if her statement is entirely accurate.)

IMG_0597My husband (the chemistry/science teacher) said, “Hmmm. How and what did you make this with?” (I WISH I had taken a picture of his face when he said that. Man of few words, not easily wowed by much, man who makes a LOT of expressional faces. I am learning slowly what they all mean…another post for another day indeed).

IMG_0603So off I went in search of the most amazing, incredible, awesome DIY Dish soap recipe. I checked out a ton, cross referenced them with my homesteading books, and found THIS one,IMG_0605aptly named “Homemade Natural Dish Soap That Actually Works!” WHY I have not found this blog until now is BEYOND me.  It is a great blog written by a wonderful writer and FULL of useful and interesting information. And no, my lovies, I am not getting paid or prompted to write this: THE RECIPE WORKED. 

TFullSizeRenderrue to its’ word, this dish soap does cut grease and does work and DOES cost less ANNNND, IMG_0606more importantly, is SAFE for our environment. I did add Organic Rosemary Essential oils because I love the smell, it has fantastic cleaning properties, anti-bacterial properties, is a main ingredient in my newest room and linen spray, “Fresh Kitchen“, and works to RELIEVE HEADACHES which I often get when I have to do dishes (again, a post for another day). Win Win people. WIN…WIN…

Thanks so much Sarah of Nature’s Nurture blog!! YOU Rock. I mean that. 

Have you had an epic DIY “fail” before? Feel free to share!

Sharing is caring and it is also a way to get ideas with others who are in the same “boat”. I don’t know about you but I always feel better when someone else “gets it”.

Till next time…..

Oh, and PS, my daughter thinks we should save this green slime soap concoction for next Halloween when we decorate. If you meet any goblins, ask them to breathe and then let me know if my soap looks like their breath. Thanks.

–Kim

About Perry Home Naturals

I live in Western Maine, on four acres, with my hilarious husband, entertaining daughter, a flock of chickens & three rambunctious kitties. I am owner artisan of Perry Home Naturals that I started (as Winter Solstice Dreams) in 2010. Striving to leave things better than I found them which includes teaching my daughter to follow my husband & I as we lovingly try to make this world better in our own "backyard".
This entry was posted in blog, diy, Handmade, soap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Dish Soap SUCCESS!

  1. Lol, Kim thanks for the lovely shout out! And for making me laugh along with you on your DIY fail. Been there, done that. I feel you, girl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

