Tis’ the Season….

From Fan Pop WebsiteFa la la la LAAAA la la la LAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!

I know you were singing along. If not now, you will be later ((mwuuhhhahahahh!) You’re welcome.

So the Holiday season is in full, chaotic, frenzied SWING. I happen to like it a lot because, well, that’s kind of my style but I know it isn’t that way for all and to be QUITE honest (I mean, we are friends right?) it wasn’t always for me either. For a LONG time. I’m talking A LONG time….

I won’t get into the why or the how or the “I did this x,y,z to get to this point x,y,z or you should x,y,z, etc.,” but I will be honest. Things changed for me slowly. For me, this season is more than anything about love, giving, and kindness. Don’t get me wrong, I try to do that always (no way am I close to being perfect!) but this is the season where we’ve saved up a bit and can give more to those who have less. My husband and I can also buy some cool, fun things for the kiddo (who really knows what kindness is all about. Five year olds; sheesh so full of LOVE) and the house. Of course, we make a LOT of things too!

I am seriously considering sewing up little capes for our chickens……….

This year, we decided to give honor gifts to our family and friends through donating to different charities. Everyone has said to us, “we don’t NEED anything else or please don’t worry about getting us anything or (my favorite) Kim, we’re OLD, we have everything already, spend the money on Veronica or yourselves!” So, we picked specific charities, some local, some international and of course, because I am SOOOO A-Type personality, they had to MATCH the family.

Some examples: We do a Winter Solstice Celebration each year in my family which involves smashing a peppermint pig while wearing goggles and a Darth Vader helmet (it’s elaborate so I won’t get into it now). Some family members are vegetarian/vegan and some are not. I decided that we would donate a gift of trees in the names of the family members who are vegetarian. For another family, who love pets and helping rescue animals, I thought, “why not donate in their name to our local shelter?” I did this online for all and printed out the honor cards. Since we don’t have a color printer, I am going to enlist the help of my daughter to color them in while I explain it all to her.
We also donated to a local food pantry mission in Maine. giving-back-main-1024We didn’t have a ton to spend but it really made my day to “shop” with a purpose this season.We gave what we could and of course, wish we could give more. I hope it makes a difference in someone’s life for sure; I know it has in ours and our daughter.

“It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.”

― Mother Teresa

SO, my friends (in the internets and beyond) I will leave you with this…

“The best and most beautiful things in the world

cannot be seen or even touched.

They must be felt with the heart.”

-Helen Keller

Happy crazy holiday season everyone! Happy winter and all my best for a healthy New Year!!!

……And especially for those of you who suffer through this time of year (and those who don’t!!!!)

REMEMBER THIS:

YOU. MATTER. 

buz3

About Perry Home Naturals

I live in Western Maine, on four acres, with my hilarious husband, entertaining daughter, a flock of chickens & three rambunctious kitties. I am owner artisan of Perry Home Naturals that I started (as Winter Solstice Dreams) in 2010. Striving to leave things better than I found them which includes teaching my daughter to follow my husband & I as we lovingly try to make this world better in our own "backyard".
This entry was posted in Holiday Gift Giving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tis’ the Season….

  1. Looking good. Day one, just six more to go for a week straight 🙂

  2. Pingback: You’re Such A Card…. | Winter Solstice Dreams

Leave a Reply

