I Love Linen…SEW Much….

DSCN2505

I love linen. A lot. Absurdly a lot; for many reasons. For one, linen is a natural fabric derived from the flax plant. For another, it is super breathable which is great for what I make as it allows scent to come through beautifully. The breathability factor is also fantastic for wearing clothes made from linen, which I do in the summer and warm weather months. Linen is just, for me, an all around “win win” when it comes to creating, design, and fashion.

Sewing linen is a dream for me personally; it irons well, creases well, and stays put when I stitch. There is; however, a crinkle factor. Linen will wrinkle pretty intensely with very little effort. That is to say if you were to wash one of the cases on the eye pillows I make, you will indeed find that it comes back to you with convolutions that take some effort to flatten. I use steam on my handkerchief weight linen and starch on my heavier weight linen. A little tip from experience, test your fabric first before using steam or starch and make sure your iron is clean. That advice goes toward any fabric you are working with really; I have ruined things in the past with a….whispers….dirty iron.

The photo above is one of my newest linen eye pillow designs. It is one of the first times I’ve attempted color blocking and I am really pleased at the way it came out.

Feel free to post photos of your linen creations in the comments below! 🙂
Thanks for reading 🙂

About Perry Home Naturals

I live in Western Maine, on four acres, with my hilarious husband, entertaining daughter, a flock of chickens & three rambunctious kitties. I am owner artisan of Perry Home Naturals that I started (as Winter Solstice Dreams) in 2010. Striving to leave things better than I found them which includes teaching my daughter to follow my husband & I as we lovingly try to make this world better in our own "backyard".
This entry was posted in Aromatherapy, Crafts, Etsy, Fabric, Handmade, Linen, Linen, Maine Made Products, Sewing, South Paris, Uncategorized, Winter Solstice Dreams, www.wsdreams.com. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

