Internationally Known…

One of the most satisfying and artistic things I do is design and create custom work. There is something super special about that and it’s even sweeter when a “plan comes together”.  It’s even more exciting to me when that order goes international.

China 1At our local High School, some of our teachers and students go to China as part of the ambassador program.  It is quite exciting and an incredible experience for everyone. This year, I was asked to come up with a design that would incorporate the school colors (green and gold), the chinese symbol for friendship while including the color red for China and an element of Maine. I will say that I had an absolute BLAST coming up with the design.  

For the inside of the sachet, we felt Maine balsam fir would best represent Maine. It is something unique to our state and we felt host families would really love something special from Vacationland. 

China order 3

China order 2I used Kaufman Waterford linen in natural on one side and red Osnaburg on the other. The applique design was more challenging.

2013 - logo with hat

 

We decided to go with a moose applique (the mascot of my business) for the “Maine” side of the sachet and the Chinese character for “friendship” on the other.

My good friend Cathy Corbett, owner of Oxford Hills Mill End Store, helped pick  the fabric I would use for the moose applique. We chose a gorgeous cotton by Benartex in  gold, green, and red plaid which is a  perfect representation of the colors for Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School.  I then made the Chinese character for friendship using my top-secret applique process and cut them all by hand. I really love the black against red contrast! 

China orderThe order was for twenty sachets; twenty times to handcut “Friendship” in Chinese. I can now write it now without checking my work! Pretty cool I think.

 This order was truly an honor and a privilege to create and craft. What was most enjoyable for me was merging two cultures through symbolism and motif. I am eager to hear how they were received.

While I wait, I will be working on another custom order for a wedding pillow. Another joy and pleasure to create.  I hope you find your happiness today in whatever you decide to accomplish! Thanks for reading! 🙂 

3.4.13 006-001

–Kim

 

 

About Perry Home Naturals

I live in Western Maine, on four acres, with my hilarious husband, entertaining daughter, a flock of chickens & three rambunctious kitties. I am owner artisan of Perry Home Naturals that I started (as Winter Solstice Dreams) in 2010. Striving to leave things better than I found them which includes teaching my daughter to follow my husband & I as we lovingly try to make this world better in our own "backyard".
This entry was posted in Aromatherapy, Crafts, Maine Made Products, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

